cell coverage: sisters red

I was happy to receive this novel in a package today and couldn’t resist snapping a picture (apologies for the craptacular chromatic aberration). I’ve always been fascinated by this cover.

I consider this another one of those genius pieces. When a designer works multiple ideas and concepts to make them fluid, it just makes my heart sing. My eyes first went to the two sisters, then the wolf, then the title. I’d be interested in seeing prior illustrations and its development from there to this final solid piece.

One thing to note is the type choice for “isters” and “ed” in the title. I think it’s a little too close to Papyrus for my fancy. But that’s me just picking.

Although I did dig it on the spine:

6 thoughts on “cell coverage: sisters red

  1. I love this cover soooo much. I think it just catches your eye and I love to flip it upside down and look at it that way, too. I met Jackson Pearce a few weeks ago and the first thing I said to her was, “I know you have little to no control over the covers, but I just love this one so much!” And then we talked about how awesome it was, joined by the authors and fellow Sisters Red-lovers around us.

  2. I wasn’t a huge fan of the book but did love the cover. It’s incredibly striking and clever. I’m interested to hear what you think of Sisters Red when you finish!

  3. Pingback: cover love: sweetly |

Sharing is Caring

