cover love: girl, stolen

I know this feature is called Cover Love, but I think you’ll quickly see that this post is far beyond cover love, folks. It’s coverlust in the most purest of forms. It’s so lusty* that I might even have to come up with a different feature name. Something along the lines of Spaztastic Cover Pics Ahead or Overzealous Ogling Ahoy! I don’t know.

I’m so far gone.

Earlier this month I wrote a quick little post that pointed you to author April Henry’s blog where she featured an interview with the cover designer, Rich Deas. That’s how spazzed out I was. About an interview about the cover.

Why is this important? Why am I telling you all of this? Dear reader, it is because for the first time ever, I spent my hard-earned cash money on a novel based solely on its cover and premise. No reviews, no blurbs, no nothing. Most of the books I read are borrowed from friends or the library. About 10% of the books I read are purchased, and they can be broken down into three categories:

  • Books I Got Because I Wanted Them For Christmas or my Birthday
  • Books Bought for Book Club
  • Books Bought Secondhand from Savers

So I guess I’ll have to create a new category at some point.

I went and picked up Girl, Stolen the other night at the bookstore. It’s interesting to see just a graphic representation of the cover online, in comparison to pulling it off the shelf and holding it in your hand for the first time. I was very surprised to see the glossy texture of the title on the front.

The spine also used the same gloss. Texture bliss.

One thing’s definitely for certain — I’m still a few years away from going cold turkey on the physicality of books. So no, B&N, I don’t want to see a live demonstration of your nook. I’m going to go feel up your books instead.

*this is not a real word. I totally made it up.

5 thoughts on “cover love: girl, stolen

  1. “So no, B&N, I don’t want to see a live demonstration of your nook. I’m going to go feel up your books instead.” — HA! That’s the best line I’ve heard today 🙂 I like this cover as well. Maybe not as much as you lol.. but it’s very nice (glossy and all!).

  2. So, wait, lusty isn’t a WORD? why the HELL NOT!!

    and also, I highly approve of some book groping, it’s like, the best foreplay EVAH

  3. I LOVE this cover also. I read a galley of the book back in July, and one of the things I remarked about was the cover. Now that the actual book is out, it is even more striking!

  4. Pingback: FIVE (x 2) great covers |

Sharing is Caring

