cell coverage: empty

Now that it’s been a little over two months after launching this blog, I’m wondering if I’m starting to show a pattern of my taste in covers. Take the cover of Suzanne Weyn’s Empty, for example.

Things I like about Empty’s cover:

  • It presents a dark (and clear) tone
  • It creates a sense of urgency with its imagery
  • It makes me feel like its title could be symbolic, and not necessarily literal
  • Let’s face it, I’m a sucker for grunge and texture

I caught an image ofย Empty’s cover as it floated across the internet months ago, and as soon as I saw it, I wanted to know how the printer would finish it. The overall color is much lighter in person, but the feel and look makes it 100% Pick-Me-Up-able.

Other traits of Covers Almost Guaranteed to Catch My Eye:

  • Caps that are done well
  • Type that’s done well (I can’t tell you how many times I’ve almost liked a cover but the type selection/placement/color didn’t jive with me at all)
  • Dark color palettes
  • Covers/book jackets that feature cracked glass on them (speaking of cracked glass, y’all should check out Melissa Walker’s post on Mindi Scott’s Freefall cover – gawgeous)

After looking at these lists, I do start to see myself drawn to covers that qualify according to these specs. Of course, none of this can logically explain my love for a few particular pink covers. ๐Ÿ˜‰

9 thoughts on “cell coverage: empty

  1. Wow. I like this cover. A lot actually. I would definitely be picking it up if I saw in the bookstore. As for the Freefall cover – LOVE that one! and since I’ve read the book & enjoyed it so much, I like the cover even more. It has so much symbolism in just those tiny pieces of glass shattered on the cover. Amazing.

  2. Completely agree with you on this cover. It’s brilliant, and the type face reminds me of old-timey telegrams or memos, as if this is breaking news. I get the feeling a lot of us have similar taste in covers, so I hope that cover designers are reading this blog!

  3. i LOVE this cover, and it really makes me want to read the book just to know if its symblolic or not. AND dude you should totally check out the cover for You if you like cracked glass.

  4. I thought the Empty cover looks very fitting for the story. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Oh, and pink covers — I know what you mean. Then again, I don’t think logic can explain why I love the color pink, period. ๐Ÿ˜›

  5. When I first picked this one up, the broken glass and grittiness fooled my brain for a moment and I was surprised by how smooth the cover was.

Sharing is Caring

