cell coverage: looks

I have to admit, most of the time it feels like a paperback’s cover gets treated like the red-headed step-child when it comes to cover design. It kind of sulks in the shadow of its hardcover older sibling, hoping that someone will pay just as much attention to it, and not because of the cheaper price.

But every now and then you have some gems that outshine their older siblings.

I’ve been wanting to Cover Love Madeleine George’s Looks for some time now. Trouble was, I struggled with finding a hi-res version of it on the internet. I decided to venture out to my bookstore and snap a photo of it in the wild, and I’m definitely glad I did.

Because, dear reader, of this:

Of all the paperback covers I’ve seen, this is hands-down my absolute favorite. I’m tagging this one with genius because of two different elements that come together perfectly on such a stark and simple cover:

  • Simplicity: There’s nothing busy about this cover. I love its minimal color scheme and ample negative space.
  • Title: Similar to its hardcover sibling, it works in the shadows and figures of an overweight and very thin girl. But this cover does it within its title. I’d love to give this cover’s designer an endless amount of high-fives for this.

I was <–this–> close to buyingΒ Looks that day. When I get out from under my pile of TBR books, this one will be purchased immediately.

24 thoughts on “cell coverage: looks

  1. Huh. I didn’t even notice the shadow until you said something. Very nice and thought-provoking. The publishing nerd in me also finds the embossing pleasing (that is embossed, right? It looked like it from the picture)

  2. Oh wow that is a very cool cover. I love simple covers with one striking element, and I think my favorite part here are the shadows. At first glance I didn’t even realize they weren’t real. I hadn’t heard of this book before, but I’m glad I can put it on my list now. I might even need this in paperback and not Kindle.

  3. Wow, the cover is amazing. And it seems to fit perfectly to the story. Love how the O’s are used for the two girls and the shadows are a great idea.
    I added the book to my wishlist because with a cover like this I just have to read the story.

  4. Holy wow! This cover is gorgeous!! I love the raised wordage & that shadow effect?! Awesome! You know me.. I love simplicity too. Very, very nice pick.

    P.S. the book I have featured for me “WoW” post today is the paperback cover. I thought it trumped the hardback edition by MILES!

  5. Oooh. I like this cover a lot. I just checked out the other cover, and you’re right, the paperback looks so much better. Not that that one is ugly, but this just has a better effect. Interesting. πŸ™‚

  6. That cover is simply genius! After seeing this post I just couldn’t resist ordering it… the premise sounds really interesting, and the cover certainly doesn’t hurt. πŸ™‚ Such a clever idea, putting the girls in the title.

  7. I’m trying so hard to not buy this book right now (and I’ve just learned about it from your post). I need some help with the impulse buying. This looks (haha, pun intended) like a book I would pick up off the shelf immediately and is something I would most certainly read. (pretty much anything about weight, I’m there). Thanks for featuring it on your blog. I love checking out all that you do here!

  8. thanks for the sweet comment!

    while we’re on the subject of covers with flowers, (not that we were, but we are now) I thought I’d mention Jellicoe Road. The novel itself is BEAUTIFUL, and the cover is way-lovely. Actually, when I saw the book at my library, the cover is what made me pick it up. It’s a favorite. πŸ™‚

    • just to clarify, it’s the cover with the poppy that drew my attention. The others are so-so. Ok, they’re all beautiful, just not as much as the flower cover. πŸ™‚

  9. Thank you for saying red-headed stepchild.

    And I really like that I had to take a second look at this cover to see what it means. Lovely choice my friend πŸ™‚

Sharing is Caring

