because i have hunger games film opinions, too.

If you haven’t seen my sporadic commenting on Twitter about my feelings toward The Hunger Games casting news, let me enlighten you:

Every little bit of news makes me want to barf.

I’m nervous about the film, okay? My eyes glaze over as I see the dozens of tweets firing back and forth about EW I CAN’T BELIEVE THEY PICKED HER! and OMG HIS HAIR’S NOT RIGHT! and YOU THINK HE CAN PULL OFF DRUNKEN MALARKEY?! and AT LEAST THEY PICKED A BLACK GIRL!

And while I’m watching the dozens of tweets fly by my eyes are growing wider and wider and I’m trying to keep the bile from rising in my throat. From the get-go I was nervous about a film being made of my beloved series. I thought the budget was meager to begin with. There was so much introspection involved in the novel, the thought of seeing everything visually on screen makes me think: How are these people going to pull it off?

And there’s nothing wrong with hoping and crossing your fingers that these filmmakers get it right. There’s nothing wrong with being nervous or anxious, either. Bottom line is, I want it to be good. But it’s the ridiculous amount of wanting it to be good that makes me want to barf.

I avoid the news when I can, but when you’re a YA-Fan-4-Life and follow 100+ likeminded YA fans on Twitter, it gets a bit difficult to ignore because EVERYBODY AND THEIR MOTHER TWEETS ABOUT IT. And then, for good measure, I go and decide to post my thoughts about it, too.

Behold, a conversation with one of my dear friends IRL, over text message. She never fails to make me laugh in spite of my melodramatic wailing.

*Melodramatic wail.*

26 thoughts on “because i have hunger games film opinions, too.

  1. Awww. I may be one of the few who don’t really care about the casting, but is interested about the movie. I like movies, but I’m not really a big movie person, plus I’ve learned the art of separating the book from the movie when I watch a book-turned-movie. The last time I was really disappointed by the movie adaptation was Harry Potter 3, but after that I try to forget the book when I watch its movie version. 🙂

    But I will feel really, really sad if they play down the violence. I didn’t watch Battle Royale, but I WANT THAT SAME HUNGER GAMES CORNUCOPIA MAULING TOO. *crosses fingers*

  2. I’m too scared to even think about being scared. I’m walking past the whole anticipation thing whistling and averting my eyes. On the day of actually going to the film I shall pretend that I’m going to see something else. Only when I’m sitting in my darkened seat, staring at the screen as the opening titles roll will I allow my mind process the fact that this is the Hunger Games film.

    Until then, it doesn’t exist. *sticks fingers in ears* lalalalalaaaaaaaaaaa.

  3. After the triumph of Fellowship of the Ring, and my subsequent fury that built over each sequel, I have been made forever cynical. If I see that movies are being made of books I love, I automatically assume they are going to be terrible. That way, I am rarely disappointed (*coughDarkisRisingcough*). I had a brief resurgence of hope after The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, but Prince Caspian and Voyage of the Dawn Treader killed it forever in me.

    So now I tell myself brightly: “It’s not even meant to be the same story! It shares the title, the character names, and maybe a few plot devices, but really, that’s all just a coincidence and this movie has nothing to do with the book I love so well!”

    It sometimes works.

  4. I actually love Woody Harrelson, so I’m totes fine with him as Haymitch! He wasn’t my first choice, yes, but I think he’ll do great. My first choice was Hugh Laurie. How perfect would he have been?!

    And Stanley Tucci is Cesar Flickerman! You have to love Stanley Tucci, right?

    The only bit of casting I have hated so far has been the main 3: Katniss, Gale, and Peeta. Jennifer Lawrence is OK because at least she’s an excellent actress. But Katniss is from a poor District where food is hard to come by, so she should be skinny skinny. Jennifer Lawrence has an awesome, curvy body. It looks great, but it’s not a Katniss body. And Liam Hemsworth as Gale? Uh, he’s a horrible actor. But he IS pretty, so I’ll let it slide. And finally, Josh Hutcherson. I’m so disappointed in that decision. He’s shorter than Jennifer Lawrence, and he’s going to look off as a blonde. I don’t know. I don’t like it. But then again, when I read the books I pictured Peeta as a big, slow, chubby, bumbling doof, so there’s that.

      • Haha! That was Patch, but I tend to agree with him. Ya know that kid in grade school who was always hot and sweaty? Kind of smelled a little after recess? Most likely had a Kool-Aid mustache 95% of the time? That’s my Peeta.

  5. LOL FOREVER. You and your friend are so funny! But um, yeah, there needs to be some serious intensity at the cornucopia. I read that they’re going for a PG-13 rating and… I don’t know, man. The books (esp 3, hello) were decidedly R.

    An unrelated question—how did you get an image of that much iphone texting?! This is amazing! I’ve done the screen shot, but wowza.

    • Oh goodness. PG-13? I guess I can see why they’d push for that rating, since it’s a YA film. BUT. I feel like instead of seeing 100 people stabbed and gutted it’d probably be like…mmm, maybe 90? And maybe one less F bomb? I can definitely live with that kinda gruesome dying. Seems like nowadays there’s so much more the entertainment industry can throw up (HA SEE WHAT I DID THERE) on the screen without getting chastised.

  6. I really wanted Nathan Fillion because he is made of awesome, but Woody Harrelson was so hilarious in Zombieland that I’m looking forward to seeing him as Haymitch!

    • Nathan Fillion, eh? I’ve never thought about him, but YES he is totally made of awesome. I feel like he’d give ANY role its due justice. And yes, I agree about Harrelson in Zombieland – Haymitch is my absolute favorite character in the series so I hope his role is pulled off AMAZINGLY. Otherwise I might implode.

  7. *sigh* Honestly I’m with you and I’m kind of cringing everytime they announce a new character has been casted, I sometimes think that I wish they would’ve just left it alone and not try to make a movie out of it, there’s always going to be things that won’t be like the book always and it’s frustrating, I’ve seen many books turned into movies already and this one if they mess it up I think I will flip, right there at the movie theatre I don’t care who I embarrassed, this series is important to me and of course to a lot of people so I hope they don’t screw it up. *crossing fingers* =/

    • I share this same passion about books we love being turned into movies! I mean, after reading Twilight then watching the film it’s so hard to get Pattinson’s constipated face out of your head. You want books that you loved to be done well! And to make you love them somewhere in the same vicinity as you loved the book, right? Gah.

  8. I’m trying not to think about it. I’ve been disappointed with a number of the adaptations. The Harry Potter films are the ones I count on for a consistent level of quality. I was hoping for that level of quality and commitment for the Hunger Games movie. Hollywood took the HP franchise seriously. I hope that happens with Hunger Games.

    • You are SO right. I’ve discussed the role of Haymitch with Hubs and told him my thoughts on casting, etc. He basically told me, “I just hope it’s good and has a great story. That’s all I care about.” Oh to be IGNORANT OF THAT AWESOME SERIES. I wish I didn’t know any of the casting decisions, too. But alas, such is the life of a Twitter-fiend. I cannot escape the madness.

  9. Pingback: meet my IRL bookish friends: ruth & chanté |

Sharing is Caring

