those kissy face covers i loathe!

Today’s guest post is brought to you by my lovely friend Ginger of GReads. While I may agree (with gusto!) and nod along at all of her snarkiness, it’s always a given that cover-judging stops at the cover. Why do such terrible covers happen to good books? Why, universe, why?!

Take it away, G! 

So I’m a very adult girl who enjoys reading young adult books; mostly romanticals that make me swoon & wish I was 16 all over again.  Think I’m crazy?  Well think again!  Because I’m pretty sure there’s lots of peeps out there, who like me, enjoy a good make-out session full of young love.  As much as I love these stories, I’m not always a fan of their covers.  You know which ones I’m talking about.  Don’t pretend like you don’t.  The kissy face ones!!  Ugh.  How is this very adult girl suppose to bust out with that cover while reading at the doctor’s office?  I like to imagine my characters for myself, I don’t always need the cover art to dictate their lip-lockage for me.

I’ve found a few examples of kissy face covers that I absolutely loathe.  If I were to judge a book by its cover (which I do from time to time! and you do too! Don’t deny this either!) I probably wouldn’t pick up a few of these books.  With that being said, I would have missed out on some pretty epic love stories.  Shall we take a closer look?  Warning: you may want to be in the comfort of your own home before you start perusing the following covers (Just kidding. Kind of.).


There is all kinds of wrong happening on this cover.  From the unruly eyebrows happening on that guy’s face, to the “I’m almost going to kiss you – can you smell my breath” aspect, & that drawn-on chin stubble.  Major loathing here.  And I’m sad to say that because I LOVE this book.  It was such a sweet surprise for me.  I just had to dismiss that god-awful cover and concentrate on the words underneath it.


What’s bad about this cover is that even if you try to look past that awkward lip-lockage, the background is just as awful!  Major cheese-fest happening with the stars, moon, and lake.  Do people really kiss like that under the stars?  Maybe they do.  And is it just me or does that dude look like he’s falling asleep?  I love me some Simone Elkeles, but come on…get rid of the falling asleep, under the stars, awkward kissy people.


Now, I find this cover extremely hard to loathe because I adore this story like no other.  It is my favorite Echols story, after all.  But something very unpleasant is written on that girl’s face and I am not quite sure what to make of it.  Does his breathe smell that bad??  At least their eyes are closed.  No one kisses (or almost kisses) with their eyes open.  That’s just creepy.


I do like black & white photography.  I also like when covers mix it up with a bold choice in color for the font.  What I don’t like is mid-make out scenes on the cover.  This one took it way too personal.  I made a point to read this book while at home, simply for that cover.  Call me shallow.  Plus those people strike me as older than teenagers, which is confusing.


All kinds of creepiness happening with this cover.  Is it just me or do these two people look alike? As in could be related?  If so, their lips do not need to be that close to one another.  Another thing, why did I first think this chick was dead?  I don’t know why, but something about this makes it look like she’s lying in a coffin to me.  With that initial thought there definitely does not need to be any lip-lockage happening.

Please remember that my distaste for these kissy-face covers in no way reflects my feelings about the written words between its covers.  These stories are fantastic & the authors are brilliant.  Those lip-locking fools on the cover? Not so great.  I love me some steamy sexytimes just as much as the next person, but I’d like my mind to think up those lips and not have the cover literally show me those lips.

Okay, I know all of you have your own opinions about these “kissy face” covers — so let us know in the comments! You already know my thoughts about faces on covers. But throw some faces on a cover that are about to, well…suck face? Double yikes!

15 thoughts on “those kissy face covers i loathe!

  1. BWAHAHAHAHA this is awesome! I totally agree with Forget You – it looks like she’s either smelling some rank breath or regretting what she’s doing. And I def got some funny looks on the train reading that one.

  2. The ‘Not That Kind of Girl’ cover is TERRIBLE, which sucks because the book is quite wonderful. I definitely agree with your thoughts, Ginger.

  3. oh my gosh, it is truly hard to quantify exactly how much I DISLIKE the kissy-face covers. It’s just… so.. it’s not… JUST NO. There are just too many other, more clever, more heartwarming ways to have people show affection on a cover.

  4. Amen to that! I remember seeing a CD of something like “101 clubbing anthems” with a similar cover design, and it reminded me of nothing so much as two pacmen (pacmans? Mr Pacman and Ms Pacman?) about to devour each other. Not classy.

  5. When I see kissy face covers i’m all “why, WHHHHYYYYY” because y’all know if I like a book that much i’m going to want some cover foreplay. I want to fall in lust with it, maybe even possibly lick it if the timing is right and I’m alone. in my bed. BUT when it’s got those faces on it’s like some awkward three way with two weird people that should just KISS ALREADY. blah, I hates em.

  6. Thanks for letting me guest post, C! I hope my snarky-ness didn’t offend anyone, hehe. This was fun 🙂

    • Thank you so much for guest posting today, Ginger! As you can see you’ve got several folks here in agreement with the anti-kissy-face cover stance. Including yours truly. And your snark is welcome on the blog ANYTIME. =D

  7. You know, I thought the same thing about the Sea Change cover–that the models looked alike–when I read it sometime ago!

  8. It’s funny. I like a lot of these covers, but when I’ve read these books on the subway, I’ve felt a little sheepish (not b/c I’m in my 30s and they’re YA, but because they’re so kissy!). Still, I do think they’re pretty. And I have the Cover Stories behind some of them, but my blog’s still broken right now so I won’t link. BAH! Great post!

Sharing is Caring

