you see, sweetie, when two covers love each other…

When I first saw the cover for Tempest, I wasn’t quite sure what to think about the cover art as a whole. It’s an incredibly striking image, that’s for sure. And I knew I wanted to know what the story was about (a guy who time travels!!!).

Lounging next to my husband, I leaned over and showed him the cover art on my phone.

“What does this look like to you?” I asked him.

He gave me a sideways glance, then pulled the phone closer to his face, scrutinizing its screen.

“It kind of reminds me of Percy Jackson.”

And then I had my aha moment.

“Oh!” I sat upright, the images clicking in my head. “I know! It reminds me of the Sistine Chapel. You know, the whole God and Adam image? Kinda? Maybe?”

He looked again. “No. Percy Jackson.”

“Okay, it’s like Percy Jackson and the Sistine Chapel had a love child. And dressed it in clothes from Gap.”

“Fair enough.”

What do you think? Do you ever feel like covers are interesting hybrids from other images you’ve seen before?

29 thoughts on “you see, sweetie, when two covers love each other…

  1. BAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA this cover is ridiculous. like imagine reading that on the commute to work? IMAGINE! And Mr Shabby Geek is insanely clever because as SOON as I saw this cover I thought OH HELL NO PERCY JACKSON RIP OFF. And they looked like they got the inspiration for the cover people’s clothes from the twlight movie. Do girls not wear COLOURS anymore, like lemon or dare i say it PINK?

    Also, now I have a dilemma…..would the love child be a catholic greek god with bad fashion sense? because I’m not sure that would fly with the pope.

    • “I’m not sure that would fly with the pope.” I SEE WHAT YOU DID THERE, CARLA.

      Re: colors — patterns and colors are so yesterday, did you not know? Desaturated and doom is totally in. I’m one to mock, tho, I have like 8 gazillion black dresses.

  2. BWAHAHAHA I LOVE your description of the Creation of Adam and Percy Jackson having a love child!!! As soon as I saw this cover I immediately thought of the painting, which I love – but I still can’t decide if I like this cover or not. I shall go ponder some more… 🙂

  3. It reminded me a lot of Hush, Hush as well, at least when I saw the small image in my feed reader. When I clicked on the blog itself and saw it larger and more detailed, I’m not so sure, but there are some similarities. But it’s intriguing. I like how they’re reaching for each other and the lightning in the background. Interesting cover.

  4. I like it. It makes me wonder if they are being pulled apart or floating towards each other. And your description was right on!

  5. My first thought was God and Adam. Albeit turned a bit more diagonal than sideways. People really like biblical references I suppose.

  6. Call me weird…but what is up with the girl’s feet? From the top of her foot to the bottom of her shoe looks wider than her thigh. Is that just me?

  7. I sort of wish the characters looked a little less real. They look to much like they’ve been added on top of the image. Still, if the book sells as well as Percy Jackson and hangs around as long as the painting of the Creation of Adam, I’m sure the designers will be well pleased.

  8. I got to read this super early for blurbing. Spoiler: it’s awesome.

    When I saw the cover (which I really love–super moody and atmospheric, very Romeo & Juliet type yearning!) it immediately reminded me of this news story that came out a few years ago, which apparently my brain never forgot: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-1189212/So-near-far-How-British-girl-brought-boyfriend-4-000-miles-away-amazing-Flickr-photo-art-album.html

    Check out the last photo in the article!

    • You blurbed this?! Your very words will be on this jacket?! WELL THEN.

      I read the entire article (thanks for sharing!) and I got a bit swoony, although the manipulation of the pair in the frames made me laugh.

      Oh, and thanks for the spoiler alert! 😉

  9. I didn’t think about Percy Jackson (and I’m guessing Lightning Thief was the one your husband thought of), but I thought of the cover for Hush, Hush. And I agree with Em about The Girl Who Could Fly.

  10. Not a fan of this cover, even though it is striking. And I HEART the love child description! Hush, Hush’s cover was brilliant, though, and this one is…not. The people POP too much from the moody background. Also, I can’t help but wonder WHERE ARE THEY GONNA LAND? Ouchie.

  11. Not a big fan of the cover but I definitely see Sistine Chapel too! I do like the idea of time travel though. That one isn’t overdone.

  12. Pingback: meet my IRL bookish friends: amy, karen & stephanie |

Sharing is Caring

