cell coverage: double

You’d think someone who had a feature called Cell Coverage would be able to take a decent, non-blurry photo with her phone. Au contraire. My poor phone’s backside has since been replaced (its glass got scratched!), but not before I had the chance to snap this quick pic at my local BAM:

Here’s the thing about jacket art. You can be nosing around on the internet looking at the most interesting-looking cover out there that’s a JPG. It’s just floating out there in 2D land. Then when you see the same cover in real life, it takes on that third dimension. There’s texture, spot gloss, effects that make you see double (oh the PUNS). When you’re done staring at the shine, it’s then that you notice the creepy hands in the background. Jenny Valentine’s cover for Double implies a lot — it tells a story with its title, and doesn’t overwhelm you with fourteen different elements of the story to make it all come together. Using Chip Kidd’s words from Monday’s post, it’s a lovely little haiku.

Here’s the JPG online, where the hands a bit more pronounced:

See what I mean?

Finally, here’s the cover art from the original publication (2010 UK), which I also liked.

What say you? Do you fancy either cover? Have you read the book? Have you ever seen a cover online that you were pretty meh about, then saw it in the wild and retracted all judgment?

14 thoughts on “cell coverage: double

  1. I really like the cover. It’s something that would have caught my eye in a bookstore even if I’d never heard of the title.

    When I saw Lea Cypess’s book Mistwood online, I was pretty meh about it. It looked like typical fantasty fare. But in person it’s actually quite gorgeous. I ended up buying it in the store when I had no intention of reading it when I saw it online. And it was good!

    • I’ve never seen Mistwood IRL, but I agree about the image online. I’ll have to check it out next time I go to the bookstore, for sure. I’m currently a little bit wary of fantasy, since I didn’t make it all the way through Finnikin of the Rock. (please don’t hate me!)

      • I actually haven’t finished Finnikin either, which is heartbreaking because I will always *love* Melina Marchetta to my dying breath, but I’m not much of a fantasy reader anyway and Finnikin was kind of weird. Mistwood, on the other hand, is one part fantasy, two parts fairy tale, with a dash of very cool heroine thrown in for good measure. I haven’t read the companion novel Nightspell though.

  2. Ooh I hadn’t heard of this book, but I loved Me, The Missing, and The Dead so I will definitely check out! It sounds very Hitchcock. It’s crazy how different the cover looks in real life…I like it!

  3. I actually like the UK version a lot better and if you read the story (which I have) it holds more meaning in the book, to my way of thinking anyway. Interesting though isn’t it how covers in real life are decidedly different from their JPG counterparts!

  4. I read the book a few months ago (UK edition), it was a quick, alright read. The US cover is very fitting because the story takes place in a rainy, English countryside. I didn’t expect it to look so cool in real life though :O I’ve had a similar experience when I first saw photos of Unearthly, it looks much cool than the internet image.

  5. The US cover is nice but I LOVE the UK one!! I’m always a sucker for typography. Like I said before, I wasn’t fond of IQ84 until I saw it in person. I just saw the new box set with the book separated into 3 books and it looked lovely!

  6. I haven’t heard of Double before now, but I love that cover! I’ll have to get a copy this summer because I know if that’s facing out in my class library, my students will want to read it.

  7. I completely missed the hands on the “real” cover and wouldn’t have even realized they were there if you hadn’t shown the jpeg version! It’s so true that looking at a cover on a computer screen just isn’t the same as seeing the book on the actual shelf. Now I need to go add this to my TBR…

Sharing is Caring

